A Much Needed Day Off.

I cannot tell you how good it feels to have the day off today.  I really needed some time to myself to do some things around the house that I just have not had a chance to do.

Priority #1: LAUNDRY.


Ok, so maybe I haven’t done laundry in a month? The benefits to living at home is that if I somehow put my laundry in the basement, a wonderful person named Mom might do some laundry for me :) (thanks mom! haha)

I mean, I guess I still have some clothes to wear:

Alright, a lot of clothes.  But I like to have all my options open, therefore doing laundry is a necessary evil.  And my hamper was overflowing in my closet, so I had to dump it in a laundry basket anyway.

I was craving a real lunch today.  Not some mismatched bunch of snacks I put together and brought to work to eat during my breaks.  I wanted to cook.

I also had the worst craving in the world for french fries.

When most of us think of fries, we think of crispy and greasy deliciousness that probably comes from fast food restaurant that wafts aromas into your car while you drive by it.  While I truly almost never eat fast food, I think my arteries will always crave these greasy delicacies that will clog them.

I have however found a healthy substitute that really satisfies my cravings… sweet potato fries.

Sweet potato fries have easily become one of my favorite foods.  Easy & delicious, and I don’t feel like I’m going to die of a heart attack after I eat them.

Make these! Trust me, your tummy and your craving will love you forever :)

The Easiest Sweet Potato Fries Ever

Ingredients

  • 1 Sweet Potato
  • 1 Tsp. Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Directions
Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees. Cover a baking pan with foil.

Peel yam and cut it into fries. Place fries on pan and drizzle with olive oil.  Add salt and pepper to your preference.  Mix the fries with the ingredients on pan (Using your hands is easiest!).

Place fries in oven.  Let cook for 25 to 30 minutes, and flip them about half way through baking time.  Turn on broiler and let cook for another 3 to 7 minutes depending on desired crispiness.

Are there any foods you love that you have found healthier substitute to satisfy your cravings?

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Much Needed Day Off.

  1. mabelle63 says:

    Totes gonna try this!!

  2. Your fries look SO GOOD. Now I want some!

  3. I love sweet potato fries! When I get a craving for something sweet, I like to blend tofu, cocoa powder, and agave syrup. It’s full of protein and definitely satisfies my sweet cravings.

  4. leashieloo says:

    YES, love sweet potato fries! I haven’t had luck making them crispy at home, someone told me to soak them in water first but I haven’t gotten around to it yet.

Leave a Reply

