Solitude isn’t overrated.

I like being alone.

Now don’t think I’m some completely anti-social person. Maybe it’s the only child thing… I just really treasure my alone time.

Maybe that’s why I like cooking so much,  I do it by myself.  I’m not religious or particularly spiritual, but being in the kitchen with my music blasting and chopping vegetables is probably the closest I will ever come to a complete religious experience.

So on snowy cold days, I like to go back to basics.  Some simple but extremely flavorful and comforting.

When I think of comfort food, one thing immediately sticks out in my mind.

Chicken Noodle Soup.

This is the easiest chicken noodle soup you will ever make.  I promise.  Tasty and delicious, it also is very healthy and a way to have a quick meal on a cold night.

Quick Chicken Noodle Soup

Ingredients
6 cups of low sodium fat free chicken broth
1 and ½ cups of chopped carrots
1 and ½ cups of chopped celery
1 chopped onion (about medium sized)
3 tbsp. of fresh chopped parsley
20 fresh chopped basil leaves
1 tsp. of dried oregano
1 bay leaf
1 cooked rotisserie chicken (I bought one from the local grocery store already pre-cooked)
1 and ½ cups of dried egg noodles
1 tsp. of salt
¼ tsp. of pepper

Directions
Place chicken broth, carrots, celery, onions, basil, bay leaf, salt, and pepper in the pot and bring to a boil.  Let vegetables cook at boiling temperature for about 7 to 8 minutes. Bring pot down to a simmer.

Meanwhile, remove the white meat without the skin from the chicken and dice so it is in small pieces. Add chicken to the pot and let simmer for about 5 minutes.

Add egg noodles and let soup simmer until egg noodles are cooked.  Add more salt and pepper to taste if necessary.

Do you enjoy being alone?  What is your favorite thing to do when you have alone time?  What is your favorite comfort food?

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Solitude isn’t overrated.

  1. I don’t necessarily enjoy being alone but I like the quiet when I am. I am much more productive alone but then I begin to miss people. I’m enjoying my day so far while Hunni is in bed so it’s like being alone :-)

  2. Natalie says:

    i LOVE my alone time – i’m also an only child though so not sure how reliable or valid that info really is. Comfort food used to be anything chocolate specifically oreos, however i’ve been trying to change that – but i can always say that a good bowl of pasta will remind me of family and make me feel good.

  3. finnomnomnom says:

    I love that first picture! You’re becoming a really good photographer. Also, the soup looks amazing.

  4. I’m an introvert myself — there are plenty of times when I want to just stay home by myself, maybe bake something. My boyfriend, being much more social than I am, doesn’t quite get it.

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention Solitude isn’t overrated. | finding a new life through food. -- Topsy.com

  6. I love being alone. I need plenty of alone time- it’s why I think I could never be married! I get really panicky if I’m constantly surrounded by people. I know that sounds dramatic, but it’s true :)

  7. simplyshaka says:

    I like and value my alone time. Alot of people dont get it since I am a very outgoing and social person but if I dont have my alone time I’m just not right and get crabby.

    I like to hang out with my dog, read, watch tv, exercise, cook, travel all by my lonesome. Just because I am alone doesn’t mean I’m lonely.

  8. Whitney says:

    Alone time is the best time, particuarly because it doesn’t happen very often! My favorite things to do when alone also involve cooking/baking, cleaning, or reading. Favorite comfort food? Too hard to come up with just one dish, but I do love mac and cheese, mashed potatoes, chocolate pudding cakes, and garlice bread!

  9. I live alone and spend a lot of time by myself, which is why I got a dog! It doesn’t bother me too much anymore and now I’ve settled in to my own schedule.

  10. Jenna says:

    I do enjoy being alone–very much so. In fact, I look forward to the (rare) times my husband is out of town and I have the house to myself . . . though I start feeling lonely if this is more than 1 day. =)
    Your soup looks uber tasty!

Leave a Reply

