Red Velvet Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

It has been a very long week.  I’ve been ridiculously busy, and have had almost no time to myself.  From last Monday until Saturday, my house was basically just a place I slept for a few hours until I barely rejuvenated to move on to the next day.

As someone who is most definitely not used to this kind of life in general, you can’t even begin to understand my excitement today when I had absolutely no plans or obligations.  The only thing I wanted to do today was bake.

Since tomorrow is Valentine’s Day, I figured it was appropriate to make some festive cupcakes.  I decided to venture into the land of red velvet and cream cheese.

I think you’ll agree that the results were amazing:

For the recipe for the frosting and the cake, I used one I found on My Baking Addiction.  For the little candy hearts, all I did was melt down some white chocolate and add two drops of red food coloring.  I piped it on wax paper and added the sprinkles while it was still wet.  They are a great little detail I think :)

I’m sincerely hoping that this week goes by as quickly.  My calendar is once again filling up and I’m ridiculously busy again.  I’m just looking forward to next week and a winter vacation!

I hope you all have a wonderful Sunday <3

Do you ever get overwhelmed with being too busy? How to you relax?


About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Red Velvet Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Alicia says:

    Happy Valentines love! These cupcakes are gorgeous!! Yum!

  2. simplyshaka says:

    Those are gorgeous!

    I am all too familiar with being too busy or having no time. I try to make time for myself, remember to work out since it helps relieve stress, hang out with friends and if all else fails-wine, lots of it.

  3. They’re so pretty! I think I’m going to make these tomorrow, if I have time. Yeah, I totally get you about being too busy- it blows!!

  4. O.M.G. Drooling at my desk

    Baking is definitely high on my list for relaxation, too. It’s soothing and routine… and tasty :)

  5. Those cupcakes look AWESOME! Red Velvet is my absolute fav.

  6. Jen says:

    Umm..I want one!! :-)

  7. leashieloo says:

    Those are beautiful (and delicious) looking. You did such a good job decorating!

  8. I am obsessed with red velvet cupcakes now! these look delicious, love the decorations :)

Leave a Reply

