Something delicious.

You would never know that I was on vacation this week.  I didn’t have to go to class, but I was so ridiculously busy, that today was the first time I have had a moment to breath since my break began.

If I tell you that it was not my intention to bake this morning when I woke up, just know that its a lie.

Subconsciously, I’ve been dreaming of baking a perfect yellow cake since I read the recipe on Eat, Live, Run last week.

It reminded me of that wonderful Duncan Hines cake you would eat when you were a kid, but way better.  And the frosting I decided to make was decadent and delicious.  Everything a yellow cupcake with chocolate frosting should be, it reminded me of my childhood.

For the yellow cake, I used this recipe from Eat, Live, Run.  It was amazing, and I made 12 cupcakes out of it.  I filled each cupcake liner halfway and baked them for only 20 minutes instead of 25 minutes and they came out perfectly.

Chocolate Buttercream Frosting
source

Ingredients

½ cup of softened butter
2 ⅔ cup of confectioner’s sugar
⅓ cup of milk
1 ½ tsp. of vanilla
½ cup of unsweetened cocoa powder

Directions

Cream the butter.

Mix confectioner’s sugar and cocoa powder together in a separate bowl.  Alternately add the confectioner’s sugar mixture and milk to the butter until completely mixed.  Add in the vanilla and beat the mixture on high speed for 2 to 3 minutes.  Scrape down the bowl and beat at medium speed for another 2 to 3 minutes until light and fluffy.  Put in piping bag and decorate cupcakes as desired.

 

What is your favorite childhood dessert?

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Something delicious.

  1. Katie H. says:

    These look so good! Then again, so does everything you make. I would like you to bring one of everything for me to the next meet up. Kidding ;). Okay not really- these look so good!

  2. I am definitely a fan of cupcakes! They were my favorite dessert as a kid, and remain so today :)

  3. I’ve always been a big cupcake fan… as in I want them at my wedding instead of a cake :) Those look fantastic!

Leave a Reply

