Puffy Peanut Butter Cookies with Chocolate Chips

It has been a very long day. These cookies might be the only redeemable aspect of this Sunday.

I apologize for being so MIA this summer, but the truth is that I have been too busy to blog and my kitchen has been too hot too bake.  I think I might be the minority when I say that summer is probably my least favorite season.  I am so thankful it almost September and almost autumn.  I love the fall and I am most certainly looking forward to all things pumpkin & apple and the cool weather.

It is also my last semester of undergrad (yay!) and being back in school means schedule and routine once again.  I’m hoping that the humidity might finally go away and baking will once again be back in my life.

So, back to these cookies.

You need to make them ASAP.  They are awesome and delicious and easy.  I literally used a bowl, whisk, and wooden spoon… and my hands to bring the dough all together at the end.

The only downfall to these cookies is that you can easily eat an entire batch by yourself.

Puffy Peanut Butter Cookies with Chocolate Chips
recipe from How Sweet It Is

Ingredients
2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
8 tablespoons of butter (1 stick)
6 tablespoons of peanut butter
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg + 1 egg yolk
2 teaspoons of pure vanilla extract
1-1/2 cups of chocolate chips

Directions
Pre-heat oven to 325 degrees.

In microwave safe bowl, melt butter and peanut butter together.  Stir together with spoon.  In separate bowl, whisk together flour and baking soda.   In another large bowl, whisk together butter-peanut butter mixture with brown sugar and regular sugar until completely combined.  Whisk in the eggs and vanilla until combined.  Using a spoon, stir in the flour.  Fold in the chocolate chips with spoon until well combined — do not worry about over mixing and use your hands if necessary.

Make golf sized balls and place on cookie sheet making sure cookies are one to two inches apart. Press down on cookies just to make them slightly flat.  Bake for 10 to 12 minutes.  They may seem slightly undercooked, and if you prefer a less “gooey” cookies another few minutes.

Let cool and devour! :)

I hope everyone has stayed safe this weekend! Have a wonderful week <3

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Puffy Peanut Butter Cookies with Chocolate Chips

  1. Alicia says:

    making these tomorrow!! can we make something pumpkin / apple together?? miss you!

  2. Tinychibi says:

    Hi! These cookies look amazing and I’m totally trying them out on Tuesday. Thanks for the recipe!!

  3. These look awesomeee! I’m excited for Fall too. The weather down here is bru-tal.

  4. I missed your delicious posts :) I am such a cookie snob, but these look perfect! I’ll eat any cookie, but I can’t stand thin, crispy cookies- thick and doughy is where it’s at!

    Congrats on your last semester of undergrad! I can’t wait until I can say that- heck, I’m not even in my last semester of community college!

Leave a Reply

