ups & downs

I have exercised only once in the past two weeks.

I ate about a pound of vanilla bean buttercream frosting tonight.

I cried more this week than I have in the past few months.

I’m a bit of a mess.

It has almost been a month since I’ve last blogged, and I want to say I’m sorry.  Life has truly been getting in the way, and to be honest, I feel like I’ve barely been cooking and I have not been baking at all.

I’ve been dealing with a few personal things the past month.  I’m okay, but I have had a few things that have been weighing very heavily on my mind as well as a full academic schedule and work schedule this semester.  I am thankful for almost a month of the semester being over, and I actually really love almost all my classes this semester.  I’m sure I won’t be saying that in two weeks when my midterms are in full swing and I have a bunch of papers due, but this semester almost makes me sad in a way.  I realize now that if I had followed what I had always enjoyed in school, I might have actually enjoyed the past four and half years of undergrad.  It is what it is though and I just have to really make my last semester matter.

As my last semester of school winds down and my twenty-second birthday approaches, I find myself excited with the perspective of a new life ahead of me and terrified at the same time.  I know I want to go to culinary school, but I’ve also realized I am in desperate need of some time off and getting my life together a bit.

Thanks to everyone who reads my blog, while I may be sporadic with my posting, I really do enjoy it and don’t plan on abandoning blogging any time soon.  With that said, posts for the next two or three months might be a little more infrequent.  I’m hoping to re-focus my blog once I graduate in December and maybe even redesign it a bit.

For now, I will leave you with these awesome cupcakes I made tonight.

Seriously, if you have not made these cupcakes yet, DO IT NOW! They are amazing.  I also substituted vanilla bean paste for the vanilla in the frosting and the results are rather delicious if I do say so myself!

Also, if anyone would like to donate to the Emily-needs-more-pastry-bags fund, I would be incredibly grateful ;)

I hope you all have a wonderful week <3

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ups & downs

  1. We’re all hot messes every now and then. I’m glad you are enjoying your classes. Looking forward to your re-focus and redesign :) <3

    Also, please deliver those cupcakes to Virginia Beach :)

  2. I’ve missed your posts! Sorry to hear things have been rough :( I hope your last few months of undergrad go smoothly! It sucks to be an adult sometimes. I still feel like a kid who has to make adult decisions!

  3. KellyB says:

    Oooo I’m a sucker for pretty sprinkles… and those pink sprinkly cupcakes look awesome!

Leave a Reply

