orange dark chocolate scones

I have become obsessed with scones lately.  I’ve been making my cinnamon chip scones a lot, but I ran out of cinnamon chips and can’t seem to find them anywhere.

On Sunday, I went to a brunch hosted by the lovely Jen, with Alicia and Melissa, as well as Jen’s sister.  We all brought something to eat, and originally I had planned on making cinnamon chip scones since I had received some great feedback on them.  Unfortunately, I realized the morning of the brunch that I had no cinnamon chips and I was going to have to improvise.  I had some oranges on hand and thought that dark chocolate chips would taste wonderful with them.

Everyone at the brunch seemed to loved them, as well as my friends who I gave some of the leftovers to eat.  They are flaky and not at all dry, as well as super easy to make!

You don’t even need an electric hand mixer, just a bowl, a wooden spoon, and your hands ;)

Orange Dark Chocolate Chip Scones
makes 8 scones

Ingredients
1 ½ cups flour
¼ cup sugar
1 ¼ teaspoons baking powder
¼ teaspoon salt
5 tablespoons cold butter (I recommend keeping it in the fridge right until you use it)
½ cup of butter milk
1 to 2 medium to large sized oranges
½ teaspoon vanilla
½ cup of dark chocolate chips
1 cup of powdered sugar

Directions
Pre-heat oven to 425.

In a large bowl, combine your dry ingredients.  Cut the butter or gently rub it into the flour until it is in tiny size pieces about the size of a pea.

In a liquid measure cup with the buttermilk, zest and juice half of the orange then stir in the vanilla.

Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and pour in the buttermilk mixture.  Gently stir together just until the dough forms.  Pour in the chocolate chips and gently mix into the dough.  If they don’t stick into the dough completely, you can just press them in while forming the scones.

On a well floured surface, dump the dough and gently press into a circle.  Cut into 8 scones (I cut it like a pizza) and place on the baking sheet.  Dust with some fine sugar if desired.

Bake scones for 12 to 14 minutes or until just golden brown.  Remove from baking sheet and let cool on a wire rack.

To form glaze, squeeze the rest of the juice from the orange and add about ½ teaspoon of orange zest.  Mix in powdered sugar.  The glaze should be very thick, but thin enough to drizzle from a spoon.  Add a bit more orange juice if necessary.

 

We have lucked out with no snow for awhile, but the winter had finally seemed to hit upstate New York in the past few days :( I can’t complain too much, we had so much snow at this time last year that this little bit is really nothing.

I hope you all have a wonderful week and stay warm! <3

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to orange dark chocolate scones

  1. Heather says:

    these look AMAZING, my friend! I’d like one for breakfast, please!

  2. Pingback: Sunday Brunch | Jen is Green

  3. Jennifer says:

    Found a very simple recipe for making your own cinnamon chips after wanting to make cin. chip scones and not being able to find them in my local shops…I can send it to you if you like :)

  4. Pingback: Holiday Baking Overload » Relishments

  5. Rudolf says:

    This specific blog post, “orange dark chocolate scones | finding a new life through food.
    ” T I S ended up being excellent. I am generating out a backup to show my close friends.
    Thanks,Agnes

  6. Pingback: My First Food Swap » Relishments

Leave a Reply

