Raspberry Dark Chocolate Scones

I like fruit.

I really genuinely like fruit, however I really hate cleaning fruit.  I know this sounds stupid because I love cooking therefore cleaning fruit should be a pretty simple task in comparison, but I find it boring and tedious.  Often I end up not eating the raspberries or strawberries in my fridge because I have yet to rinse them and that would just require too much effort.

That happened to a poor pint of raspberries in my fridge this week.  I noticed them sitting there last night just about to pass their point of ripeness and wondered what I should do with them.  I had just finished dinner so I definitely wasn’t hungry, but I knew if I waited till the morning, they probably would not be good anymore.

Then I had an idea to make them into a reduction sauce.

I was going to drizzle the reduction sauce over some cupcakes, but I realized I was tired and didn’t want to wait for the cupcakes to cool and frost them, so I came up with plan B.

More scones.

I know, you’re probably sick of scones, but I wouldn’t keep making them if they weren’t so delicious.  You really need to make these ones, because they might actually be the best ones yet.

Or just come to my house and eat all of the scones I keep making so my pants will still fit me next week, that works too.

Raspberry Dark Chocolate Scones
yields 8 scones

Ingredients
2 pints of fresh raspberries (or you could probably use half bag of frozen)
1 ½ cups flour
¼ cup sugar
1 ¼ teaspoons baking powder
¼ teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder
5 tablespoons cold butter (I recommend keeping it in the fridge right until you use it)
½ cup of buttermilk
½ teaspoon vanilla
½ cup of dark chocolate chips
1 cup of powdered sugar
1 to 2 tablespoons milk

Directions
In a small sauce pan, cook raspberries on medium heat until they break apart.  Using a small wire mesh strainer, separate the seeds and the juice.  Pour the juice back in the pan and simmer on low heat until half reduce.  Set aside to cool.
Pre-heat oven to 425.

In a large bowl, combine your dry ingredients.  Cut the butter or gently rub it into the flour until it is in tiny size pieces about the size of a pea.

In a liquid measure cup with the buttermilk, whisk in half of the raspberry reduction and vanilla.

Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and pour in the buttermilk mixture.  Gently stir together just until the dough forms.  Pour in the chocolate chips and gently mix into the dough.  If they don’t stick into the dough completely, you can just press them in while forming the scones.

On a well floured surface, dump the dough and gently press into a circle.  Cut into 8 scones (I cut it like a pizza) and place on the baking sheet.  Dust with some fine sugar if desired.

Bake scones for 12 to 14 minutes or until just golden brown.  Remove from baking sheet and let cool on a wire rack.

To form glaze, take the rest of the reduction and combine with powdered sugar.  It will be kind of “clumpy.”  Add in a tablespoon of milk until the glaze becomes smooth.  It should still remain very thick, but you should be able to drizzle the glaze.  Add more powdered sugar or milk if necessary to create desired consistency.  Drizzle over the scones.

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Raspberry Dark Chocolate Scones

  1. These look amazing. Please send me 500. Thanks.

  2. Yum! I feek the same way about fruit, esp raspberries. Water always gets stuck in the little holes!

  3. I’m not going to lie- I rarely wash my fruit! The very first time I ate raspberries as a kid, I spent the night throwing up, and my mom was convinced it was because I didn’t wash them- but I still rarely do :)

Leave a Reply

