Chocolate Oreo Cupcakes with Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting

Somehow its already March.

A lot has changed in the past month for me, I now have a temporary position in an office for the next five to six months and I’m still working my other job as well.  Its been quite an adjustment working almost 60 hours every week and usually when I have time off, all I want to do is sleep because I’m exhausted. Ultimately, I’m hoping it will pay off because I will have a hefty chunk of money in my savings and I can figure out what is next for me.

However, there are days I just need to bake.  If working in an office has taught me anything in the past three weeks, its that my passion for food outweighs any amount of money that I could make in an office in the longterm.

These cupcakes initially came out of a desire to use the special birthday edition oreos.  Unfortunately the grocery store that I was in did not carry them and I ended up just buying a pack of double stuffed oreos instead.

They had extremely positive feedback and they are relatively easy to make because the cupcake recipe is oil based instead of butter based.  I’ve decided it is definitely my go-to chocolate cake recipe.

If you need a way to make friends at a new job, these cupcakes are certain to impress ;)

Oreo Chocolate Cupcakes with Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting

Chocolate Cupcakes
 From Martha Stewart’s One Bowl Chocolate Cupcakes

Ingredients
¾ cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
1 ½ cups sugar
1 ½ teaspoon baking soda
¾ teaspoon baking powder
2 large eggs, at room temperature and slightly beaten*
¾ cup warm water
¾ cup buttermilk
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 package of double stuffed oreos

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees and line cupcake tins.

Sift together cocoa powder, flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  Add in sugar and stir all of the dry ingredients until well combined.  Set aside.

Whisk together the eggs, warm water, buttermilk, vegetable oil, and vanilla.  Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour in the wet ingredients.  Beat together slowly and then at medium-high speed for 2 to 3 minutes until well combined.

Place an oreo at the bottom of every liner and then divide batter evenly among the liners. Bake for 18 to 20 minutes or until completely cooked.  Let cool completely before frosting.

Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients
1 block (8 ounces) of cream cheese, room temperature
1 stick (8 tablespoons) of butter, room temperature
½ teaspoon of vanilla bean paste (or 1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract)
2 cups powdered sugar
1 pint whipping cream

directions
With the whisk attachment, beat the whipping cream until soft peaks form.  Transfer to another bowl and place in refrigerator.

Beat the cream cheese in stand mixer for 15 seconds.  Scrape down the sides and add the butter.  Beat at medium speed until light and fluffy.  Add in vanilla bean paste and powdered sugar.  Mix slowly until all of the sugar is combined and then beat at high speed for 3 to 5 minutes.

Once the frosting is light and fluffy, gently fold in the whipping cream with a spatula.  This may take a little while, but do not stir it in or it will not be as “light.” Once completely incorporated, pipe onto cupcakes and decorate as desired.

**If you don’t have time to wait for the eggs to reach room temperature, just place them in a bowl of warm water for about 5 minutes! I usually do this and it works great :)

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chocolate Oreo Cupcakes with Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. These look delicious! I found your blog on pinterest (searching buffalo chicken~ your garbage bread came up). Everything looks amazing, and I can’t wait to try some of the recipes =) I am your newest follower, and I would love for you to check out my blog http://www.accidentallywonderful.blogspot.com

    Have a happy Monday!

  2. Jess Sims says:

    Those look TOO delicious to not try and make! :-)

  3. Karen says:

    I am loving your blog! It’s highly inspiring. I’ve gained about 25 lbs in the past 5 years (not running after toddlers anymore, into my 40′s, etc…). I’ve lost about 6 in the past few months and I really feel like the secret is not such a secret, just to eat what you love but not so much of it. it’s been a hard few weeks for me though. Overeating and over-rewarding. But, I’m feeling it again, though, just reading through your progress. Soooo grateful I came across your recipe on Pinterest. I needed the inspiration. Thanks! :)

  4. Pingback: taking the time to honor the needs of your body is taking time to honor the needs of your soul. | finding a new life through food.

Leave a Reply

