snowy day = cooking galore.

Well, it seems every time I think the weather has warmed up, I wake up to this:

So yes, it was super snowy.

Actually, driving home yesterday was quite possibly the scariest driving experience I’ve ever had.  Usually it takes me 20 to 25 minutes to get home, but it took me 45 yesterday.  Initially, it wasn’t so bad.  But when I got on the back roads I have to take home, I thought I was going to die, no joke.  I went off the road three times, and luckily managed to get back on.  I kept watching cars go into the ditch and not make it up hills.  Needless to see, I’ve never been so happy to see my house and driveway in my life.

Anyway, today, all morning classes were cancelled which meant I got to sleep in, yay! Oddly enough, I still woke up at 9 AM, why? I have no idea.  I made some oatmeal with bananas:

and I used this White Chocolate Peanut Butter from the Peanut Butter company:

And here was my final product:

It was so yummy.  I added:
– 1/4 cup of oatmeal
-1/4 cup of vanilla soy milk
– A pinch of cinnamon
– A banana
– 1/2 tsp. of peanut butter
– A handful of raspberries
– 1 tsp. dark chocolate chips

I’ve discovered I really hate mushy oatmeal.  I like it much better when the oatmeal is just moist, and not drowning in milk or soy milk.

I also drank a glass of this:

It’s really good, it tastes just like regular orange juice, except it has a lot less calories.

After breakfast, I lounged, and debated whether or not to go to school for my afternoon class.  Luckily, my professor e-mailed us and cancelled class because so many of us are commuter, so YAY, that worked out.  No school at all today 🙂 I think it’s deserved after the majority of other schools in the country seemed to have gotten a snow day.

For lunch, I made a turkey sandwich on wheat bread and ate some cantaloupe and raspberries:

So, I didn’t really know what to do with myself.  I probably should have done more work than I did, but I just wasn’t in the mood at all.  So, I found a red pepper in my fridge, and decided to roast it in the oven to make roasted red peppers.  This then inspired me to make pizza for dinner.

I actually went grocery shopping first, because honestly, we had NO food to make a complete meal.  Just a lot of little things in my fridge and cabinet.  Here is the yummy yummy yummy pizza I made:

It had basil, fresh mozzarella, roasted red peppers, homemade tomato sauce and a wheat crust.  I bought the dough at the store, because they sell wheat pizza dough.

The sauce I made is SOOOOO easy.  Seriously, it is just as easy as buying pizza sauce.  All you need is:

  • 1 (15 oz) can of pizza sauce
  • 1 (6 oz) can of tomato paste
  • 2 tsp. of dried oregano
  • 2 tsp. of garlic powder
  • 2 tsp. of dried basil
  • 1 ½ tsp. of granulated sugar

Then you just stir it all together and voila! It’s done. You don’t even have to cook it!

So, all in all, pretty good day.  Nothing very exciting.  I really need to finish my Epidemiology hmwk for tomorrow, but I think I’ll just keep putting it off till its really later.  Ha ha.

Tomorrow I plan on making homemade ravioli, so I’ll be sure to update everyone on how that goes 🙂

Bonne nuit mes amours!

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

