I’m backkkk!

Hello, I’m sorry I’ve been the worst blogger in the world and have not written in over a month, but I’ve had a hectic few weeks.  I went on spring break to D.C. and then had a crappy few weeks, but this week, I finally just said to myself, “Emily, snap out of it!”  I was turning into the person I have worked so hard to get rid of from a year ago again, so I finally just pulled myself out of my funk and realized that I am a new person.

So, I’ve gotten back on track with my gym time and eating.  This week, I finally tried making oatmeal blueberry pancakes, because I’ve had the recipe for a long time and needed to try them! Oh nom nom nom, they were wonderful.  I also added a banana to them too.  Here is my one gigantic pancake cooking:

and after, here is my pancakes! They are a little misshapen, due to some flipping issues.  Ha ha 🙂

As much as I loveeeee maple syrup (and real maple syrup, not that sugary Aunt Jemima crap), I was just really in the mood for some powdered sugar. I went a little overboard as you can see.

So lately, I’ve been seriously debating becoming vegetarian.  I have been researching it for one of my classes, and the more I learn about it, the more I think it might be the right option for me.  To be honest, I really don’t eat a lot of meat except for chicken.  I don’t think I will be able to necessarily stop eating chicken completely right away, but I think it’s something I can eventually do.  I also think while I’m still living at home, it’s going to be hard.  My parents eat a lot of meat, and my dad thinks vegetarians are “all crazy and looney.” (as put by Jimmy, haha).

Well, I went to the Food Co-Op today, and decided to try some sort of meat substitution to see what it tastes like.  I went with the Quorn brand and bought this:

It was recommended to be by someone who is a vegetarian in my genetics discussion.  I read the back and saw you could microwave the nuggets or bake them.  Since the microwaving took a lot less time, I opted to do that.  I have no idea how I could have microwaved them wrong, but they came out hard as a rock.  I was slightly disappointed, but then decided to just throw them out, and try baking some nuggets instead.  That worked sooooo much better.  I used my toaster oven instead of the big oven, and it worked just fine for me.  I ate them with my huge lunch because I missed breakfast today (studying for a genetics test I had this morning) and I have to work, so I won’t eat until kind of late.  Here is my lunch:

So I ate some grapes, strawberries, Back to Nature macaroni and cheese with peas, and the Quorn chik’n nuggets.

The nuggets were so good! I was so surprised, they tasted exactly like a regular chicken nugget to me, I probably would have never known they were not chicken if you didn’t tell me.  I definitely will be trying more Quorn products in the future.

I love the Food Co-Op.  I seriously could have gone crazy, but only but the nuggets, some frozen peas, and some yummy looking ravioli.  I think I’m going to cook them for dinner.  They were filled with cheese, pine nuts, and basil.  I’m so excited.  I also treated myself to my favorite ice tea:

Hopefully I will update again by the end of the weekend.  Sorry I’ve been MIA but hopefully I’m back more consistently now that the semester is almost over!

Au Revior mes amies!!!

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m backkkk!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention I’m backkkk! « finding a new life through food. -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

