Hola! [insert other spanish words…]

Okay, yes, we all have been waiting for the snow to end, but going from 60 degrees earlier this week to 90 degrees today is a bit too much too fast.

FACT: Emily hates the sun. We are not friends. It likes to give me sun poisoning even when I’m wearing 50 SPF sunscreen.

So, here I am, laying on my bed, with the window open and my fan blowing, slightly gross from the heat and not at all wanting to finish this stupid 15 page paper that is due tomorrow.  Instead, The Real Housewives of New Jersey marathon that is on and writing in my blog sounds much more appealing.  Ehh, the paper will get done.

Last night, I had the house to myself.  My parents were out at the camp, so obviously I had a raging party. Ha ha, I didn’t even slightly fool you.  I went to the gym in the afternoon, no one was there, it was fantastic.  I came home and had a little snack of these:

I made myself just take the serving size out of the bag and put it on a plat, because I could seriously sit and eat that whole bag in one sitting.

I did some work, and then decided it was time for dinner. I was craving mexican food, so I made some of this:

I decided to give ground beef substitute another try, and make taco “meat.” I bought this:

I also cooked some black beans with spices to add into my tortilla and my final result was this:

Whole wheat tortilla with rice, black beans, ground “beef”, cheddar cheese, and sour cream.

I’ll be honest, the meat substitute, not that fantastic. It was okay, I’ll eat it, because I hate letting food go to waste, but seriously, real ground beef tastes better.  I think it will be something I have to seriously consider if I do become a vegetarian, because while I have found a good chicken substitute, I have yet to find a good ground beef substitute.

That aside, mexican night was a success and definitely fulfilled my craving!  I was pretty full after, but not too full to eat this delicacy:

A brownie from the vegan bakery! Yummy-ness… so so so good.  I could have died and gone to heaven.  I was a happy girl.

So I decided to try to attempt to start another paper I have due on Tuesday. Complete failure. Ha ha, I got bored like twenty minutes into writing it and decided to bake of course! I made iced oatmeal cookies… here was the batter:

and the glaze:

and the final product!!!

Pure yum, yum, yum. Seriously, they are sweet and chewy and a little piece of heaven.  Here is the recipe, it’s super simple and easy!

Iced Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter
  • 2 cups of sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 ½ tablespoons of honey
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla
  • 2 cups of flour
  • 1 ½ teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons of cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon of salt
  • 2 cups of quick oats

Icing

  • 2 cups of powdered sugar
  • 4 tablespoons of milk

Directions

  1. Cream together butter and sugar; add eggs, honey and vanilla.
  2. Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Gradually add to creamed mixture. Stir in oats.
  3. Drop by the teaspoonfuls onto cookie sheet.
  4. Bake at 350°F for 6-7 minutes.
  5. Mix together powdered sugar and milk until smooth.
  6. Cool cookies for about a minute on wire rack, then ice with a thick powdered sugar glaze.

So, I finally went to bed after my baking frenzy.  I woke up this morning, starving as usual and ate this:

Whole wheat toast with Saratoga Peanut Butter Company “Chillin Chocolate” Peanut butter & bananas, with a side of strawberries and pineapple.

Ohhh, that peanut butter did not disappoint at all, that is for sure. So fantastic.

On a side note, I have eaten like 3 oatmeal cookies today, they’re like crack.

Alright, I think I might go to the gym, I feel gross and I need to wake up. Ciao ❤

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hola! [insert other spanish words…]

  1. chelleryyy says:

    I’m going to try this cookie recipe this week sometime. It looks fabulous!

Leave a Reply

