Summer lovin’

It looks like the warm weather has finally arrived, and I have mixed feelings.  Mostly because I just hate humidity, and honestly, I don’t go out in the sun much.  My pale skin speaks for itself, and after my horrific sun poisoning last summer, the last thing I ever want again is to deal with that.

I had the day off today, and it really felt good to have absolutely NO obligations at all.  I slept really late, and then lounged for awhile.  I finally showered and went downtown to sell back my books and stopped at the co-op after to get a few things. Nothing particularly special, except I bought a yummy looking applesauce.

I came home and relaxed on my porch with my doggy while I ate and drank these:

Tazo Giant Peach Green Tea

Fresh sliced strawberries and a banana

and I enjoyed reading this:

Then my dad came home with these:

Fresh tomato plants! If there is one thing about summer I always look forward to it is our garden.  Here is a picture of part of it:

We have fresh garlic, lettuce, and snow peas growing in that part.  We’re also going to plant the tomatoes and broccoli.  Tomorrow my dad is going to buy our herbs, so we’ll probably have basil, parsley, chives, rosemary, and dill.  There is seriously nothing like fresh vegetables and produce.  We also grow some strawberries!

I’ve realized that eating local and fresh food makes such a difference in the food you eat.  It’s tastes soooo much better.

I was feeling kind of lazy, so we did a quick and easy dinner:

Salad with mixed greens, grape tomatoes, mushrooms, cucumber, feta cheese & rosemary balsamic dressing

Whole wheat pasta and broccoli with pesto

After dinner, I was in the mood to bake… as usual.  I bought some blueberries and decided to make this blueberry crumbcake recipe I’ve had for awhile.  Here was the cake before I put it in the oven:

And here it is after it came out:

SO YUMMY. I have no words to describe it.

Alright, sorry this is a bit short, but I need to get out of my house. It’s one of those nights… off for bonfires and smores 🙂

Ciao ❤

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer lovin’

  1. vgirl29 says:

    Looks delightful! I totally garee with you about eating food you’ve grown yourself. Your garden is more adventurous than mine. lucky you having strawberries 🙂

Leave a Reply

