Oh, hey, what’s up heat?

Gah, it is so incredibly hot here.  I really don’t do well in the heat, and there was no easing into this weather.  I much prefer the 50s to 60s, I can handle the 70s, but once it hits the 80s, I get cranky.  I just really don’t like feeling of being hot and sweaty and gross all the time.  It definitely doesn’t help that they have not turned on the air conditioning yet at UAlbs, so my first day of summer classes was not fun to sit through.

I went home in between class and lab because I of course woke up late and had to rush to school, therefore, I did not get to eat breakfast or bring lunch to school with me.  I am planning on changing that tomorrow, I do not function well without breakfast!  I made this yummy salad for lunch:

Mixed greens with carrots, cucumber, feta cheese, and grilled chicken topped with rosemary balsamic vinegarette

It was just what I needed, something cool and refreshing.  I also hate the heat because I get really dehydrated easily, even though I drink tons of water.

For dessert, I ate one of these cookies I had bought at the farmer’s market:

Lavender cookie and cantaloupe

The cantaloupe was sweet and wonderful, and the lavender cookie was amazing! I was actually slightly hesitant to try them, because I was really not sure I would enjoy the flavor of the actual herb of lavender.  It was so sweet and lemony, I loved it! I definitely will buy them again 🙂

I went back to school, and luckily lab today was only like 30 minutes long because it was just an intro.  The only thing I’m pretty annoyed about is we have to wear long pants and closed toe shoes for every lab, which I understand because of the chemicals, but it’s soooooo hot and there is no air conditioning right now.  I’m definitely bringing pants and closed toe shoes every day to change into, because I am not wearing them all day long in 80 degree weather!

When I got home from school, I was utterly dead.  I hadn’t slept very well the night before, and my head was killing me, so I took a nice long nap.  When I woke up, I was pretty hungry, so I made this for dinner:Strawberries, cantaloupe, meatless Quorn chik’n nuggets, and Annie’s mac n’ cheese with peas

It was yummy, and just what I wanted for dinner.  I didn’t have to turn on the oven either, because I have a toaster oven to cook the nuggets in.  Currently, our air conditioners aren’t in our house yet, so I’m hoping my dad gets them in this week.

I also treated myself to a scoop of this for dessert:

Stewart’s raspberry fudge torte frozen yogurt

It was so refreshing and good, and it is also only 150 calories a serving and doesn’t have that much fat in it.  I highly recommend it if you like raspberry and chocolate!

I finally got back to the gym tonight, and it felt really good.  I’m hoping to get in routine and schedule again with my classes starting.  As bummed as I am that I have to take classes this summer, I really am looking forward to having a set routine.  It’s much easier for me to make healthier food choices that way and go to the gym regularly.

Alright, I’m extremely tired and I think I might go to bed.  I hope this is a sign that I will get back into my going to be early/waking up early schedule again, I really miss it!

Ciao & Baci ❤

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh, hey, what’s up heat?

  1. Told you those lavender cookies are amazing!!

Leave a Reply

