I bet you don’t celebrate Memorial Day like I do.

Hello my friends, I apologize for the lack of updates, but my life has been slightly insane the past few days. I’m not used to having so many obligations, and it’s been slightly overwhelming.  Let me start from around Wednesday or Thursday.

I had been eating not very well to say the least.  When I get stressed, I tend to make the wrong food choices.  This is something I seriously need to work on.  Well, I was feeling gross so I decided to finally try this:

Black Bean Hummus

Let me give you a little background on my history with hummus to start.  I have always, always, ALWAYS detested hummus.  It’s one of those foods I so desperately want to like because everyone I know loves it and raves about it, but I just don’t.  I’ve tried it so many times and just can’t stand it.

That being said, I tried this particular hummus at the farmer’s market, and actually liked it.  I was so excited that I bought it, thinking my hummus issues had been solved.  Apparently, not the case, because for some reason when I tasted it at home, that taste I hate so much was still there.  I literally had to spit it out and to get the taste out of my mouth I quickly grabbed out a jar of this:

and took a nice spoonful:

I was so disappointed.  I had been so excited for lunch, and it made me so sad that I still don’t actually like hummus after all.  Needless to say, I think I will just stay away from hummus for good.

I ended up making my go to lunch instead:

Quorn Chik’n Nuggets, Annie’s Mac n’ Cheese with Peas, and Cantaloupe

I also ate another Lavender Cookie for dessert:

Later that night for dinner, I made this:

Brown Rice with Bean Dish (Black Beans, Onion, Plum Tomatoes, Garlic)

So yum! It’s a great dinner that’s really easy, but it takes a bit of time, just because of the bean dish really has to cook down for a good 25 to 30 minutes.

I was also excited this week because the farm stand next to my house had fresh strawberries!

I died a little inside with how amazing they tasted.  So sweet and so juicy, honestly, there is no strawberry that compares to fresh grown ones.  My taste buds become sad every fall when I have to go back to eating strawberries from the grocery store.  I was also very happy to see that they weren’t super expensive! I am planning on buying some more Tuesday.

I also finally tried Zumba this week at my gym! It was actually really fun, and a nice change at the gym.  I have absolutely no rhythm, and I seriously envy you if you can dance well, or just move well for the matter.  I’m probably the least coordinated or graceful person ever, but regardless, I still had lots of fun.  I plan I going to more zumba classes 🙂

I ate one of these afterwards because it was perfect to fill me up till I had a meal:

Chobani Strawberry Greek Yogurt

The rest of the weekend, I have no pictures to show or report.  Memorial Day weekend in my town is a tradition, and so, yesterday was not my finest hour, haha.  But I have to be honest, it is the most fun I’ve had in a super long time!  It was really nice to see people I graduated high school with (even if I don’t really remember talking to most of them, haha).

It’s funny how when your in high school, all you want to do is get out and meet new people.  I think I’ve realized recently this life I’ve had in this town for so long is nothing to run from or to hate, it’s something to cherish.  It’s really unique, and I think I’ve finally come to love it.

It’s taken me a really long time to say I love my life, and it’s one of the hardest realizations I’ve ever come to.

I’m still working on loving me, but I think I’ll get there someday.  If this weekend taught me anything it’s that people may come and go into your life, but your real friends, they’re always there, no matter what.

Anyway, I promise to be a better blogger this week!

Ciao & Baci Baci Baci!!!! ❤

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

