Procrastination is the key to success.

I wish it was July 16th at 10:50 AM, because I would officially be done with classes for the summer.  I’m so sick of classes and school, I seriously need a break. Alas, I still have 6 weeks left, so I really need to get my head in it and focus.  I’ve been studying, but for the most part, procrastination has been my best friend.

It hasn’t helped that I have been sick, but I think that I’m finally getting better.  I didn’t really cough or sneeze today, and my congestion is almost none existent.  Is it sad that I notice it the most in the car because now I can sing my heart out again? (well almost…)

Anyway, I woke up way early today.  My air conditioner was being kind of noisy, so I decided to make a yummy breakfast:

Whole Wheat Waffles with strawberries & blueberries

I hadn’t had a waffle in a few weeks and it tasted sooooo yummy.  I love the strawberry and blueberry combination with my waffle.  I would make another tomorrow for breakfast, but I doubt I will wake up early enough to do that and make it to my 8:30AM class on time.

I moseyed around my house for awhile, did a little bit of chemistry, and then procrastinated as usual.  By the time lunch rolled around, I was pretty hungry because I had been watching food network and the cooking channel all morning.  I decided to make something a bit more hearty, and found these in my freezer:

Quorn Meatless Meatballs

I wasn’t super fond of them last time, but I didn’t want them to go to waste, so I decided to try to make them a little bit better.  I cooked them in olive oil this time before I added them to my favorite jarred sauce:

Newman’s Own Marinara Sauce

It’s seriously the best jarred marinara sauce out there.  I’ve tried plenty, and this one wins by leaps and bounds.  I also picked these to add to the sauce and use as a garnish:

Fresh Basil Leaves

I cooked up some whole wheat pasta, and then added everything with the sauce and voila!

Pasta with sauce and meatless meatballs, topped with fresh basil and parmesan

It was yum, and while the meatballs weren’t stellar, there was definitely a significant improvement.

Afterwards, my mom and I did a target run and went to the grocery store because we were completely out of food.  I know I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again, I loveeee grocery shopping.  We stocked up on fruits and veggies, because we had like nothing.  Pictures to come!

I cooked chicken fried rice for dinner:

Brown rice with onions, celery, carrots, snow peas, baby corn & chicken

So good! The snow peas from our garden were amazing 🙂 I love being able to walk outside and just pick it to use for dinner, lunch, etc. My dad is also planting broccoli, and I’m hoping we’ll be able to get some spinach into the ground as well.  The garlic and lettuce still have a few weeks before they’ll be ready.  The herbs are doing really well too!

After dinner, I went to my friend Michelle’s house and finally baked these delectable treats that I have been dying to try:

Fresh Strawberry Cupcakes with Buttercream Frosting

Gahh, I die a little bit inside when I see them again.  They were so so so so sooooooooooooooooooo good.  Can you tell I liked them? They were almost like mini strawberry shortcakes, but kind of different at the same time.  Overall, success!

Okay, I need to go study more chem or fall asleep and then wake up early and study more.  I’m pretty tired.

Ciao ❤

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

