A Vegan Kind of Day.

I do not claim to be vegetarian, and I definitely do not claim to be vegan.  Would I possibly become vegetarian in the future? Maybe.  Would I ever become vegan? As of right now, that answer would be no.  I love cheese, plain and simple. I can’t really imagine ever giving that up.  However, there are days or even certain weeks where I go vegetarian.  Today however, I think I’m going to try to eat mostly vegan for the day.  “Why?” you may ask.

My choice today to eat vegan for the day comes from the cleansing feeling it seems to release.  I have never done a body cleanse or a fast, so I don’t really know what they feel like for your body.  All I know is when I eat a vegan diet for a day or two it makes me feel refreshed.  I’m not trying to insinuate that being a vegan is like a body cleanse at all, I’m just saying, it feels like there is some balance restored in my body when I eat a vegan diet without having to go through a body cleanse.

I woke up this morning with oats on the mind.

This is unusual because ::gasp:: I don’t necessarily consider oats to be one of my favorite foods.  I easily get bored with them, and to be perfectly honest, I haven’t had oatmeal in a month.  I think this makes me a minority in the blogging community.

I walked downstairs to hear Sophie whimpering so I let her out on the porch as she stared longingly waiting for her master (my dad).

“Sophie, it’s only 9 in the morning, he’s not going to be home for another seven hours.” I said without much sympathy.

She dragged her tail inside and plopped on her doggy bed while I made this bowl of oatmeal:

Oatmeal. Vanilla Almond Milk. A banana. Cinnamon. Sickeningly sweet and just the way I like my food.

As I munched on my sweet gooey yummyness, I decided to try Mama Pea’s Vegan Pumpkin Spice Latte recipe that I’ve been staring at for over a month.  Click the link for a detailed description of how to make the latte, but here is a photo collage of how I made it:

A few little side notes for the recipe that might help you! Definitely microwave your ingredients in 30 to 45 second intervals so nothing burns, I did that about three times and it made the milk combination hot enough.  The other thing I think is really important, use good coffee!! I actually didn’t have any really good plain coffee lying around so I used some of my dad’s Foldgers coffee and BLEH! It really kind of ruined the latte for me, so I think I’m going to go buy some good plain coffee to have on hand.  Ideally, I would love to have one of those little stove top espresso pots, but really strong coffee works fine too.

Well, considering I’m wearing a gross over sized t-shirt, boxers, and my hair is sticking out every which way, I’m thinking I need to go shower or something before I go to work.  Ya know, not look to gross or anything.

Have a lovely day!

Have you ever done a body cleanse or a fast? What did you like about it or what didn’t you like about it?

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Vegan Kind of Day.

  1. Katie H. says:

    LOL my pup is the same way- he waits for my dad to come home, even though I am the one that has raised him- he lived with only me for 4 years before I moved back home temporarily! wtf pup, haha.

    I agree with you about not being able to go vegan bc of cheese. I love cheese so so much. I think I could eat some vegan meals and enjoy them (I did the other night) but my life would not be complete without cheese. And some grass-fed beef here and there 😀

Leave a Reply

