There’s no use crying over spilled milk…

That’s how that old saying goes, right?

Lets just say I had an epic soup fail today.

My dear Ina, you never fail me.  I don’t know what went wrong.  It seemed simple enough… roasted winter vegetable soup.

“Perfect!” I thought when I was grocery shopping yesterday.  It’s gotten chilly around here and a batch of soup was needed in my home.  The ingredients were simple… Carrots, Butternut Squash, Parsnip, Sweet Potato, and Vegetable or Chicken Stock.  The method was easy, it seemed almost impossible to mess up.

Don’t be deceived by its bright squashy looking color.  It may seem like a beauty, but it really is a monster.  I tasted it and almost wanted to vomit.

I literally have no idea what I did wrong.  I followed the directions exactly and it still came out this way.  I checked the food network website to see if the recipe was just a terrible recipe, but it was getting rave reviews.

I’m pretty stumped.  The only thing I can think of is that I used to big of a parsnip and that made it too bitter.  I didn’t even puree all the parsnip though, so I really and truly do not know.

I took a deep breath and was slightly frustrated, but then remembered, I’m not always going to be successful at every recipe.

Lets just say the bunnies in my backyard have a nice squashy mess to nibble on.

But when all else fails I can always count on baking cookies well.

Peanut Butter Cookies dipped in Chocolate
Source

Ingredients
½ cup granulated sugar
½ cup packed brown sugar
½ cup peanut butter
¼ cup shortening
¼ cup butter
1 egg
1 ¼ cups all-purpose flour
¾ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon baking powder
¼ teaspoon salt
1 bag of semi-sweet chocolate morsels
1 cup of white chocolate (morsels or chopped)
Sprinkles for decorating

Directions

  1. Mix sugars, peanut butter, shortening, butter and egg in large bowl. Stir in remaining ingredients. Cover and refrigerate about 2 hours or until firm.
  2. Heat oven to 375ºF.
  3. Shape dough into 1 1/4-inch balls. Place about 3 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet. Flatten in crisscross pattern with fork dipped into sugar.
  4. Bake 9 to 10 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool 5 minutes; remove from cookie sheet. Cool on wire rack for two hours.
  5. Melt semi-sweet chocolate and white chocolate in separate double boilers.  Add a few drops of water to the white chocolate if you need a more liquid consistency.
  6. Dip cookies in semi-sweet chocolate and lay on wax paper.  Drizzle white chocolate over, and then add sprinkles on to the chocolate if desired.

Have you ever had a serious recipe fail?

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There’s no use crying over spilled milk…

  1. Christina says:

    One time I was trying to make Dal and I didn’t use enough water to cook the lentils in, so the lentils burned the pan. I was so embarrassed, I already had company over and my recipe had gotten ruined before even getting to the fun part (spices and such). My pan is still burned from recipe fail.

  2. Whitney says:

    Yesterday I had to make a whole bunch of cookies for some clients at work. I ended up ruining the entire first batch of dough and only had 2 hours remaining to bake up enough for everyone. For some reason, the cookies came out paper thin and they tasted like bread! 😦 I think it’s because I added too much butter, not enough of a levening agent, and added crushed candy cane… I dunno, this is only a guess. :/

Leave a Reply

