Oh, it’s that time of year.

New Years Resolutions.

We all make them.  I think most of us break them.

Last year around this time, I was starting to find who I was.  I was starting to become okay with “me.”  I know this December 31st, I’m a completely different person than I have been for the past 21 years of my life.  I’m working on being the best possible me, and I’m certainly the happiest I have been in a very long time.

The idea of making goals is really good in theory, but in reality I feel as if I often set myself up for failure.  Yearly goals can be really hard to actually achieve in reality, especially for me.  I have always been a person who gets overwhelmed by the “big picture.”  So what I have decided to do this year is set five major goals, and then every month set monthly goals that will help me achieve my bigger goals.  I hoping that this will make my goals more manageable, and let me actually have success with New Year’s Resolutions.

New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Lose Weight – I know this is extremely cliche, but for once in my life, that is the only two words I’m going to set as my “goal.” I refuse to set a number of pounds or the weight I need to be by December 31st of next year.  My goal for next year is to be healthier.  Do I think I will be exactly where I want to be at the end of the year? Probably not, but I am hoping I will have achieved a good amount of weight loss.  I am hoping that monthly goals will help to make this goal a bit more manageable.
  2. Be More Active – 3 months ago, I decided to cancel my gym membership.  At the time, it was the right decision, but now I am ready to be active again.  My major dilemma with a gym membership was the cost.  The gym I belonged to (and really loved) cost a significant amount more than other gyms in the area.  I had a long talk with my mom, and while we have not made a full decision yet, we realized that if we both join the gym with a joint membership, the cost will be significantly less.  We also will be able to motivate each other to go together.
  3. Take a Cooking Class – This is something that I have been wanting for a long time.  I think that after spring semester is over, it will definitely be more manageable.  Its something I might be able to get some other bloggers interested in doing with me as well 🙂
  4. Better Time Management – Time management has always been a serious struggle for me, and with only two semesters left in my undergraduate career, I really want to teach myself to be more organized with my time.  I think that setting monthly, even weekly goals, will seriously help me in my academics and life in general.
  5. Pay Off Credit Cards and Stop Unnecessary Shopping – This is at the bottom of my list, when in actuality, it is probably my number one priority.  As I’ve stated before in my blog, I have a seriously addictive personality, and one of those addictions is shopping.  I have made strides in the past few months to cut back on shopping, but I still do.  It seems to fill some weird void when I’m feeling down or empty, and as a result, I feel like I can get out of control.  As of tomorrow, I’m cutting up my unnecessary credit cards and aiming to be debt free by December 31, 2011.  I think I can do it, and I’m going to try my hardest.

So now I am off to prepare some lovely New Year’s Eve goodies.  I think 2010 has been a good year for me, a year of new beginnings, and I think that 2011 will only be more positive and empowering.

I’m hoping to make some major blog changes by the spring as well, but we’ll see where I am financially and such, and if I can afford to start paying for my blog.

I hope you all have a wonderful New Year’s Eve and are safe! Also, don’t forget to enter my brownie giveaway if you haven’t already! You have until Midnight (EST) tonight to enter!

 

Do you have any New Year’s Resolutions? Do you prefer to set yearly or monthly goals?

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oh, it’s that time of year.

  1. I think monthly or even weekly goals are more manageable for me. Good luck with your goals! You will do awesome. If you’re ever in my neck of the woods, there is a great little place to take cooking classes 🙂

  2. leashieloo says:

    I tend to set goals during the year, so I don’t currently have any new resolutions. I consider myself a work in progress 🙂 Have a happy new year!

  3. Katie H. says:

    Oh, I would definitely be interested in a cooking class! 🙂

    I like how you structured your goals. I tend to follow the same sort of structure- have some overarching goals for the year and break it down into smaller goals each month. 2011 is going to be great!

  4. Natalie says:

    I totally understand your goals… I cut up my credit cards about 5 months ago and it was the best thing I ever did… I got a loan to consolidate 2 of them and pay them off slowly without being able to add any more to them and I keep one for work and school expenses… Best of luck with everything!!!!

Leave a Reply

