Breakfast Smoothies

One of my goals this week was to make breakfast every day.  So far, I have succeeded… which is good because it is only Monday, hahaha.

I think one of my biggest issues with breakfast is that I easily become bored with breakfast foods. I don’t think that oats are the best thing in the whole entire universe.  Greek yogurt gets old after a week for me.  I need to make something more exciting to keep me wanting more breakfast.

Enter the breakfast smoothie.

There will be no green monsters in this kitchen for now.  But this smoothie is very delicious. Simple, easy ingredients that most people have or can easily find in a grocery store.

Pineapple Banana Smoothie

Ingredients

  • 1 banana
  • ¼ cup to ½ cup of fresh pineapple
  • ½ cup of orange juice
  • ¼ cup of plain or vanilla yogurt
  • 4 ice cubes

Place all ingredients in blender and mix until smooth.  If the smoothie is too thick add up to another ¼ cup of orange juice.

 

A few little notes… make sure all of the “skin” of the pineapple is cut off because otherwise it gets a little chunky.  I had to strain my smoothie because I bought pre-cut pineapple and was too lazy to cut off the extra “skin.”  Also, you could easily substitute the orange juice for pineapple juice or some other kind of juice.

Do you ever find yourself bored with the typical breakfast foods? What do you like to eat for breakfast?

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Breakfast Smoothies

  1. Looks soo good! You should freeze yours bananas, and use them as ice cubes for smoothies. I love doing that!

  2. leashieloo says:

    I tend to get into a breakfast rut myself but I like what I like. Typically cereal or oats, I try to mix up the flavors a bit but I don’t stray too far.

  3. I used to eat the same thing for breakfast every day, and I got so tired of it! Now, I love to take the time to mix it up and make a good meal. It’s my favorite time of day!

  4. Katie H. says:

    Thankfully, I do not get tired of my standard breakfast. Otherwise I would be at a loss as to what to eat! Every (workday) morning I have vanilla greek yogurt with a cup of granola. It’s great!

  5. Whitney says:

    Pineapple is so yummy! That sounds like a really good smoothie recipe. I was in the same boat as you not too long ago. Actually, I felt that way about all meals – sometimes you get so busy with life that meal ideas are just plain overwhelming. For some reason, breakfast has been a bit easier for me lately. I started eating oatmeal daily and recently got on an egg kick.

Leave a Reply

