Learning to Love Again.

A lot of things have happened to me the past two years that really make me not believe in “true love,” soulmates, etc.  As I say often on here, the details are slightly to personal to share, but all you need to know is that I’ve learn to be pretty content without a companion.

That’s something I didn’t think I would really ever be okay with… the idea of being alone.  But I’ve discovered that I really am okay with it.  The past year and a half has been quite the learning experience as to finding out who I am and learning to love myself.

So as Valentine’s Day approaches, I am really not dreading it.  I even kind of think its cute, despite the fact that its a complete Hallmark holiday.  Last year it irritated me, but this year, its just giving me an excuse to bake really cute cookies:

Sugar Cookies with Royal Frosting.

This was my first attempt ever at making or using royal frosting.  It’s definitely one of the more difficult things I’ve encountered in baking and cooking.  To be perfectly honest, baking is one of those few things I do where I rarely encounter mishaps.  It comes naturally to me.  Its one of the few things I’ve ever felt like I’ve excelled at and can do better than a lot of other people.

Royal frosting however was a little bit more of a challenge than I’m used to.  The consistency is great for detailed cookie decorating, but figuring out the flow of the piping and not getting air bubbles while doing it took a little practice.  The first few outlines were not the prettiest, lol.

I decided to not complicate things and just stick to the white royal frosting for today.  I’m glad I did, because I think I would have taken on too much if I had tried to use different color icings.

I used Annie’s Eats as my resource for the cookies and frosting because she has a really great tutorial how to use royal frosting if you’re unfamiliar with it.

If you’ve never bought meringue powder, I researched it a bit before deciding which brand to buy.  I ultimately decided to go with Williams-Sonoma.  It is a little bit pricer than some other meringue powders, but all the reviews said the quality and taste in general was much better than other less expensive ones.  I was really happy with the results so I highly recommend buying it from there!

I hope you all have a wonderful Sunday ❤

Are you dreading Valentine’s Day this year or looking forward to it? Do you like baking holiday inspired treats?

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Learning to Love Again.

  1. Those look so yummy… and any holiday is the perfect excuse to bake cute treats! In college, we decorated our house for every holiday 🙂

    V-Day is one of my favorites, to be honest. Even when I was single, my girlfriends and I would get each other cards and go have drinks!

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Learning to Love Again. | finding a new life through food. -- Topsy.com

  3. simplyshaka says:

    I dont like Valentines Day. I could tell you horror stories and I refuse to work on Valentines Day as well. Instead, I take a day to love myself more than I normally do–I’m going to the gym, getting a mani and pedi and may do an I hate Valentines Day party with friends.

    If you feel the need to get rid of those cookies, let me know I would love to eat them!

  4. I love your cookies! Even when I’m single, I like Valentine’s Day. Maybe because I like to bake too 🙂 I’ve had fun Valentine’s Days with and without a date, so either way, I don’t mind it.

  5. Katie H. says:

    Emilyyy those look so good! Please bring some to the dinner on the 11th? Please? 😀

    Eh, Valentine’s day is whatever. Though I do love February 15th, since that is the day Brian proposed 😀

Leave a Reply

