The Best Cookies… Ever.

I’m not lying when I say these might be the best cookies I’ve ever made.

I love chocolate chip cookies.  If I had to pick any cookie in the world to eat, I would probably always pick a chocolate chip cookie.  I guess they make me feel nostalgic and they are sooooo tasty.  I’ve been on the hunt to find the perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe for years, and I think I just might have found one.

These are no ordinary chocolate cookies.  These are the classy cousin of your typical chocolate chip cookie filled with delightfulness.

Just make them, you’ll be happy you did.

White Chocolate & Chocolate Chip Caramel Cookies
Adapted from All Recipes

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • ½ teaspoon pure almond extract
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons hot water
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup caramel, softened*
  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • ¾ cup semi-sweet chocolate chips or chunks
  • ¾ white chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line baking pans with parchment paper.
  2. Cream together butter, white sugar, and brown sugar until smooth and completely combined.   Beat in the eggs one at a time until fully incorporated.  Dissolve baking soda in hot water in a separate small bowl, and then add to the mixture with the salt. Combine until all ingredients are evenly distributed.  Pour in caramel and beat into batter until fully incorporated – you shouldn’t see streaks of the caramel in the batter.  Stir flour, semi-sweet chocolate chips, and white chocolate chips with a spoon into the wet mixture.
  3. Place about tablespoon size spoonfuls of the batter on the pans.  Bake for 10 to 12 minutes in preheated oven or until edges are fully brown.  Let cookies sit for 5 to 10 minutes before removing from pans.

*The caramel I used was Trader Joe’s caramel sauce in a jar, but if you can find any caramel sauce in a jar, you can easily use soft caramel candies and melt them down with a little water in the microwave.  You just need to be careful not to burn them.  If you’re feeling particularly ambitious, you can make your own caramel 🙂

These cookies definitely cheered me up, because I was in a pretty terrible mood.  They also helped me to further procrastinate my reading that I have yet to finish… I suppose that’s what the library is for this weekend!

What do you do when you’re having a bad day? What is your favorite cookie?

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Best Cookies… Ever.

  1. YUM! I wish I could grab the whole plate through the computer 🙂

  2. Those cookies look SO good! Chocolate Chip are definitely my favorite…especially when they’re mushy in the middle 🙂

Leave a Reply

