Cookie Dough Truffles

Fact: I love cookie dough.

I will go out on a limb and say you are probably weird if you don’t like raw cookie dough.  Yes, we all know that its bad for you with the raw egg and all… blah blah blah.  It tastes amazing, end of story.

So, you can imagine my excitement when I found a recipe for Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles.  I think I probably did a little dance and grinned from ear to ear.

I can promise you they did not disappoint. I think my exact words were, “Oh my god, heaven!” after my very first bite.  You would probably agree:

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles
recipe from The Gallery Gourmet
yields about 3 dozen

Ingredients
8 ounces (16 tablespoons) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup light brown sugar
1 ½ teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1 cup mini semisweet chocolate chips
¾ cup unbleached all-purpose flour
pinch of kosher salt
12 ounces milk or dark chocolate, chopped
Sprinkles to decorate

Directions

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about 2-3 minutes.  Beat in the vanilla, add the flour and salt and beat until combined.  Using a rubber spatula, fold in the mini chips.

Using a 1/2 ounce ice cream scoop, portion out mounds of dough and place them on a parchment lined baking sheet.  Place the baking sheet in the refrigerator and chill until firm, about 1-2 hours.  Roll the dough into smooth balls and place in the freezer until firm, about 1 hour.

Melt the chocolate in a bowl set over a pan of simmering water or melt in a microwave-safe bowl in the microwave.  Stir until smooth.  Remove a few frozen dough balls from the freezer.  Pierce the dough ball with a toothpick and dip in the melted chocolate to coat.  Using another toothpick, push the ball off the toothpick and set on a parchment lined baking sheet.  Continue with remaining dough balls. Decorate with sprinkles while chocolate is still wet.  The truffles can be made and stored in the refrigerator for up to 5 days or in the freezer for up to 2 months.

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Cookie Dough Truffles

  1. Alicia says:

    YUM! Emily, these look orgasmic. YUM.

  2. WOW WOW WOW WOW

    I just sent myself this recipe, that looks like one of the best desserts I have ever seen!

  3. KB @ Home-Baked Happiness says:

    Wait, no eggs? Score! Cookie dough that won’t kill me! I’ve gotta try these. 🙂

  4. simplyshaka says:

    OH

    MY

    GOD

    Starring this recipe so I can make it. Holy balls!!!

  5. I have no qualms about eating cookie dough with raw egg, but I think I need to make these before I contract salmonella 🙂

  6. If there are no eggs, there’s nothing stopping me from eating all the dough before the recipe is complete!! Haha 😉 Those truffles look fan freaking tastic.

  7. Katie H. says:

    I want. These look to die for! Also, digging the new camera photos 🙂

  8. Please, please, PLEASE save some for next week if we’re still meeting up!!!! 😀

  9. Your kitchen is so blue and calming. I love it! I’m also adoring this recipe. The truffles are so beautiful! I’m not a huge fan of cookie dough, but my boyfriend would love me forever if I made these. Thank you!

  10. Meagan says:

    One word: DELICIOUS!

  11. I made my own version of these tonight!!! soooo awesome!

  12. Pingback: Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles « Being Healthier

Leave a Reply

