Rewarding yourself.

I realized that last week that when I had announced I hit my twenty pound weight loss, it also meant I hit my first goal and small reward.  While I had originally said I wanted to buy an iPod shuffle, I began to become aware that I really wanted something else more once I hit my first goal: new clothes.

For anyone who knows me, its no secret I have a bit of a shopping problem and a ridiculous amount of clothes. While I am very happy that I am fitting into clothes in my closet that I have not been able to wear in two years, I still had an overwhelming desire to reward myself with some new ones at a smaller size.  Unfortunately, money was a bit tight this week, so my mom helped me purchase about half of the new things I bought.

I bought a few adorable things (at great deals!) at JCrew:

yellow long-sleeve cardigan, racerback striped tank with a zipper, and a cute tee with a silver embellishment

I got the cardigan and tank at the outlet, and bought the shirt along with a striped boat tee and a pair of jeans at the actual store.  I got such a steal on the jeans (they’re dirty, that’s why they’re not pictured!), they ended up coming to only $25 🙂

I also bought two adorable sun dresses at Express for the steal of the century:

Both dresses were 40% off and then my mom had a $15 birthday coupon, so they both came to about $36, what a bargain!

It feels really good to have some new clothes and really helps me keep motivated to lose more weight.

I also purchased something else this weekend:

A beautiful eggplant.  While there were plenty of healthy dishes I could have made with this, I really only had one thing on my mind: Eggplant Parmesan. I decided to make a “healthier” version by baking it instead of frying the eggplant.  You really can get it just as crispy and it makes it not anywhere near as greasy.

Oh, it was soooo yum!

I may or may not have gone into a happy food coma.

However, I was sure to really control my portion and I didn’t cook any pasta on the side.  I just ate a piece of ciabatta bread to wipe up the extra sauce.  I had roasted zucchini in the oven for when my parents ate dinner, but I was stuffed so didn’t end up eating any of it.

I also didn’t realize that my spring break actually went until today and almost drove all the way to class… such a typical Emily.

Since I had the pleasant surprise of no class, my mom and I decided to go to the gym earlier than usual.  I was pretty pumped because I hadn’t had a good workout in a few days:

However, when we got there, the gym felt like a sauna.  I don’t know what exactly was going on, but the temperature regulation was definitely not working right.  I started my workout on the elliptical and just didn’t feel right.  My legs hurt and I felt light headed.  I barely made it past the halfway mark at 25 minutes and thought I was going to pass out from being so overheated.  I stopped and just said, “Screw it.”

After pulling myself together, I walked on the treadmill with my mom for about 10 minutes and felt a lot better.  I think the gym cooled down or they fixed whatever was wrong, but I just figured my workout for the done was over with.

Normally, something like that would have discouraged me, but I just brushed it off my shoulder.  Even though I didn’t have a great workout, I know it doesn’t mean there is something wrong with me, we all have bad exercise days.

Anyway, I’m off to relax and prepare for my final week and a half of classes for this semester.  I’m already looking forward to the weekend 😉

Do you get discouraged when you have a bad workout? What do you do to keep your self confidence positive?

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Rewarding yourself.

  1. Alicia says:

    Emily!! You look so skinny in your picture!!! Eggplant parm looks great, I have never had it!

  2. yay!!! awesome clothes–buying new clothes after losing weight is the BEST feeling! you look great! ❤

  3. You are awesome! 20 pounds, wow! So inspiring. You deserve those cute clothes, girl!

  4. Sounds like you’re making great progress! I can’t think of a better reward than new clothes 🙂

  5. Yayyy for shopping!!

    I can’t function when it’s too hot in a small space, like my office or the gym. I’m fine when it’s hot (and sunny!) outside though 😉

  6. Katie H says:

    Yay, you look awesome and I love the new threads! So pretty. Hooray for the last week and a half of classes!

  7. Congrats on the weight loss!! I LOVE those dresses 🙂

Leave a Reply

