carrot cake cupcakes with cream cheese frosting

When I was little I wouldn’t eat carrot cake because it had carrots in it. Have I ever mentioned I was one of those terrible children that hated vegetables and tortured my parents with my constant desire for chicken fingers and french fries?

Don’t get me wrong, I love me some greasy and delicious fries still, but I’m also very glad I have expanded my food choices by leaps and bounds.

I do now really enjoy carrot cake, but cream cheese frosting? Not my favorite.  No idea why, seeing as I love cream cheese and frosting, but together? Its just not my cup of tea.

However, this frosting is rather exceptional for someone who doesn’t love cream cheese frosting.

Make these.  They are incredibly easy and very tasty.

Carrot Cake Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

Dry Ingredients
2 cups flour
1½ tsp cinnamon
2 tsp baking soda
2 cups sugar

Wet Ingredients
4 eggs beaten
1 tsp. vanilla
¾ cup vegetable oil oil
3 cups of finely shredded carrots

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Stir together dry ingredients. Add vanilla and oil to eggs and whisk together.  Then add carrot. Mix dry ingredients with wet ingredients until combined. Bake cupcakes for 20 to 25 minutes (check them at 20 and evaluate if they need more time!).  Let completely cool before frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting
1 stick of butter, softened
1 8-oz. pack of cream cheese, softened
2 to 3 cups confectioner’s sugar (depending on how sweet you want the frosting)
1 tsp. of vanilla

Beat the cream cheese until smooth.  Add stick of butter and beat until both are combined and smooth.  Add vanilla and sugar and beat until fully incorporated.

*I double the frosting recipe in order to have enough, plus a little extra to frost 24 cupcakes.  I always say better to have too much than too little 🙂

 

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to carrot cake cupcakes with cream cheese frosting

  1. I used to hate carrot cake too! I remember my grandmother making it when I was a kid and I hated it. I just tried it again in March and fell in love! Also, cream cheese frosting is the BEST!

  2. Pingback: Apple Spice Bread with Apple Cider Glaze | finding a new life through food.

Leave a Reply

