Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

Last week, I was on a cupcake baking frenzy.  This was mostly due to the fact that the weather allowed me to bake without sweating to death in the kitchen and I had a few things going on that allowed me to bring cupcakes to share with others.  Unfortunately, I think that the humidity is back this week and my desserts will consist of taking handfuls of chocolate chips out of the bag and eating them.

It was my good friend’s birthday last week and she told me she didn’t care what I made because she loves all my desserts, but also added that that she really loved chocolate.  I had been craving some kind of chocolate cupcake and was trying to think of what might be a good frosting to go with it.  As I moseyed down the aisle at the grocery store, oreo cookies caught my eye and a light bulb went off.

Cookies and Cream Cupcakes!

I had seen this idea a few times on a few other blogs, and I went to work to create my own take on the cupcake.

The cupcake recipe is so easy, it’s called one bowl chocolate cupcakes! I didn’t even have to pull out the kitchen aid to mix the cake batter.  The only difference was I chopped up some oreos and stirred them into the batter at the end.  I would highly recommend doing this if you’re making cookies and cream cupcakes 🙂

Here’s the frosting recipe I threw together:

Cookies and Cream Frosting

Ingredients

  • 1 package of cream cheese frosting, at room temperature (full fat or 1/3 less fat)
  • 1 stick of butter, at room temperature (1/2 cup)
  • 2 1/2 cups of confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 tsp. of vanilla
  • 16 to 20 oreos finely crushed (this is really important if you’re piping the frosting because big chunks of oreos will get stuck in the tip… this happened to me haha)

Beat butter and cream cheese together with paddle attachment until well combined.  Scrap down the sides and add powdered sugar one cup at a time, making sure to scrap down the sides each time you add the powdered sugar.  After all sugar is combined, add the vanilla and beat the frosting for about 4 to 5 minutes until fluffy. Scrap down the sides and add the crush oreos.  Beat for about a minute.  The frosting is on the thicker side, but you could add a tablespoon of milk at the end if you find it is too thick.

The cupcakes were definitely a hit!  I really loved the cake recipe for this, so I will probably experiment with other frostings and ingredients that would go well with it.

I’m off to finish up a few chores and finally shower after cleaning my car and going to the gym.  I’m sure I smell beautiful 😉

Have a great Tuesday!

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

  1. Alicia says:

    Those look soooooo good!!! Yum!!! Miss you!!!!

  2. WHOA! Those look amazing! I think you officially outdid yourself 😉

  3. AHHH these look amazing! I just made cookies and cream cashew butter, so I have some extra cookies that will now be turned into frosting 🙂

  4. My mama would LOVE these! She is obsessed with all things cookies n cream!

  5. Pingback: Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes | finding a new life through food.

Leave a Reply

