Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes

The combination of chocolate and peanut butter is either something that a person loves or hates, I really don’t think that there is much of an in-between.  However, there is a perfect balance that must be found in order to create a good chocolate peanut butter cupcake.

I think these come pretty darn close.

Peanut butter I think will forever be my favorite nut butter.  There is just something so incredibly delicious about it and its a great source of many nutrients.  I do have to remind myself though to eat it in moderation because I could literally sit and eat a jar of it with a spoon.

I had the idea for these cupcakes when I made the cookies and cream cupcakes a few weeks ago.  The chocolate cake was so delicious and indulgent, I knew that it would be perfect to balance out the peanut butter.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes
yields 18 cupcakes

For the cupcakes: Follow this recipe and at the end, stir in about half of a bag of chopped Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Minis.  Bake for about 18 to 20 minutes and let completely cool.

Peanut Butter Frosting
1 package of full fat or ⅓ less fat cream cheese, softened to room temperature
1 stick of butter, softened to room temperature
½ cup to ¾ cup of creamy peanut butter
2 to 3 cups of powdered sugar (depending on how thick and sweet you want the frosting)
1 tsp of pure vanilla extract

Beat cream cheese and butter until well combined.  Scrap down sides and beat in peanut butter.  Scrap down sides and slowly mix in vanilla and powdered sugar.  Once all combined, beat on high for about 3 minutes, until light and fluffy.  Pipe as desired and decorate.

 I really enjoyed these because the cream cheese wasn’t too overpowering in the frosting.  If you want a little bit more of a peanut butter flavor, you could add up to a cup of peanut butter into the frosting.  You could also just slice big peanut butter cups in half and place a half in each cupcake instead of using miniatures 🙂

Well, I’m off to drag my butt to the gym.  It’s been a weekend of not so great eating for me, plus these cupcakes added in have not helped 😉

Have a great week!

What’s your favorite nut butter?

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes

  1. You had me at peanut butter and chocolate. I need to reserve you and Courtney to make my birthday cake…do you do Gluten free. 🙂

  2. Alicia says:

    These look SOO good!

  3. You are the cupcake queen Emily!!!! They always look amazing. I eternally suck at baking with peanut butter which is something I need to work on ASAP… preferably with this recipe 😉

  4. My sister doesn’t like peanut butter and chocolate- isn’t that crazy?! She didn’t even like peanut butter until a few years ago, so I think there’s something wrong with her. Best flavor combo EVER!

Leave a Reply

