Lemon Poppyseed Muffins

There are very few foods in life that I would choose over chocolate.  Chocolate cake or cheesecake? Always the chocolate cake.  In fact, there are very few things in life that I would choose over chocolate.  My screen name in middle school was even had ‘chocoholic’ in it (ahhh the memories of AIM conversations and having the coolest screen name).

However, I have a rather large place in my heart for lemon poppyseed muffins.  Now, while I still might not choose the lemon poppyseed muffin over the chocolate chip muffin, it is one of the few foods that stands a fighting chance and would make me pause and think about which one I want.  I have loved lemon poppyseed muffins since I was little girl.  There is something so light and delicate about them.

Also, they are called muffins, therefore, you are allowed to eat an almost cupcake for breakfast without anyone looking at you funny.

These muffins are really easy to make. You don’t even need a handheld mixer, just a whisk and a few bowls.  They were all made and baked within 35 minutes and came out really light and fluffy.  You won’t regret making them 🙂

Lemon Poppyseed Muffins
recipe from and then I do the dishes
yields 12 muffins

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of flour
  • 1½ teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1½ tablespoon poppy seeds
  • 1 egg
  • ½ cup + 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 large lemons, zested
  • ¼ cup melted butter (½ stick)
  • 1¼ cups buttermilk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

for glaze:

  • 1 teaspoon of fresh squeezed lemon juice**
  • 2 teaspoons of milk
  • ½ cup of powdered sugar

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 350F and line muffin pan with 12 liners.

In a large mixing bowl, sift flour, baking powder, baking soda,  and salt.  Add the poppy seeds. Whisk together until well combined.

In a smaller bowl, rub together sugar and lemon until the sugar is a pale yellow color, slightly moist, and fragrant.

In a medium size bowl, whisk the egg, vanilla, butter, and buttermilk together.  Then add lemon sugar mixture and whisk until well combined.  Make a well in the center of the flour mixture, and then gently stir together with a wooden spoon until just combined.  The batter may still be a little lumpy, but do not over mix.  Spoon the batter evenly into 12 muffins tins and bake for 18 to 22 minutes or until the tops are slightly golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean of the muffins.

Let cool and make glaze.  Whisk the lemon juice and milk together.  Add the powdered sugar and whisk together.  If the glaze is too loose, add some more powdered sugar until you reach the desired consistency.  If the glaze is too thick, add a little more lemon juice or milk (depending on how much lemon flavor you like) until you reach the desired consistency.  Drizzle over the muffins.

**When I squeeze fresh lemon juice, I actually do it over a sifter to catch all of the excess pulp and seeds.  Sometimes it doesn’t matter if the pulp gets into the juice when you bake, but for in order to have a smooth glaze, I like to keep out the pulp.

No, that’s not a real cupcake! It’s actually a timer that my friend and her mom picked up for me and I love it 🙂  It’s become one of my new favorite kitchen gadgets.

What’s your favorite kind of muffin? Do you have a favorite kitchen gadget?

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lemon Poppyseed Muffins

  1. There are very few desserts I prefer over chocolate too, but there’s something about lemon poppyseed muffins I just love 🙂

    I totally remember AIM and screen names. I cringe thinking of some of the ones I came up with!

  2. Lemon ANYTHING is by far my favorite. I love the flavor!

Leave a Reply

