Creamy Tortellini with Zucchini and Lemon

Please do not die from shock.  I legitimately made something that could not be baked in a cupcake pan.

I love tortellini.  They are one of my favorite foods because they combine two basic staples in my diet: pasta and cheese.  While looking through the recipes on my computer one night, I came across this one and decided to make it for dinner because it was super easy.

If you’re in a rush, this is the perfect dish for you.  The heavy cream makes it a little bit decadent, but its delicious and I highly recommend it 🙂

Creamy Tortellini with Zucchini and Lemon
Recipe from Jackie Norris Photography

Ingredients:
1 package of cheese tortellini
1 T. olive oil
1 shallot, chopped
2 small zucchini, sliced
3/4 cup heavy cream
zest from 1 lemon
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
salt & pepper
chopped fresh basil

Directions:

Cook the pasta according to package directions, reserving 1/2 cup of the pasta water.*

Meanwhile heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add shallots and cook 3-4 minutes. Add zucchini and 1/4 t. salt & pepper. Cook 4-5 minutes, until zucchini begins to soften. Add the cream and lemon zest. Let simmer until the veggies are soft and the cream has thickened a bit. When cream sauce is thick, combine the tortellni, sauce, cheese, and 1/2 t. salt. If the mixture seems too think, add a tablespoon of pasta water at a time, stirring until you reach your desired consistency. Top with basil and additional Parmesan if you wish!

*Note — be very careful when adding the pasta water!  I added way too much and it made the sauce not as creamy as it should have been.  I would definitely only add a tablespoon at a time to make sure that you don’t run into the same problems.

 

I have a few blogging announcements as well.  I probably won’t be posting a lot over the next four weeks.  For some reason, I thought it was really smart to take 3 four-week summer courses at the same time, and I have so much reading & work to do.  This will inevitably lead to less blogging and time for the internet.  I probably won’t be reading as many blogs either, so I apologize if I go MIA for awhile.  I will hopefully at least be able to blog once a week, because I seriously go insane if I don’t cook or bake for too long.

I hope you all are enjoying summer, have a great night ❤

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Creamy Tortellini with Zucchini and Lemon

  1. Katie H says:

    I think we are food soulmates. I definitely starred this post and will be making this recipe- yum!

  2. im gonna make thiiis. it sounds delicious!

  3. You know, for not being cupcakes, this looks pretty damn good 🙂 I love tortellini. I can’t even remember the last time I’ve had it, sadly!

Leave a Reply

