4 years ago today…

…I graduated high school.

At the time, I felt like I had waited my whole life for that moment to come, and its really weird to think that it was four years now.  I look at myself and cannot believe how much I have changed and grown as an individual since my high school graduation, yet in many ways, I still remain that same insecure girl.  I have to constantly remind myself, I am a different person… I am a strong woman.

I am not afraid to be alone.

I am not afraid to be independent.

I am not afraid of being happy.

That girl in those pictures however was surrounded by a loving support group of girls who she has known all of her life.  Despite different colleges, growing up, and moving in different directions in life, there is an overwhelming sense of love and compassion that I still find from those girls.

In spite of our differences, I truly love them with all of my heart.  I don’t have siblings.  I am not close with my extended family.  My friends are my family.  They helped to mold the person I have become today and I am so thankful they are a part of my life.

That girl in those pictures from four years ago is now changing herself for the better.  She is making herself happier.  She’s becoming healthier.  She’s taking control of her life.

Although I may have looked like this last year,

I really believe gaining the forty pounds I did after high school was a part of my healing process.  I know it sounds backwards, but I sort of believe that weight gain had to show me how I could find happiness at any point of my life.

Now today, I am almost thirty pounds lighter than I was in that picture.  I still have a long way to go, but I’m healing.

I’m going to be okay.

This is also my 100th post on my blog! Thanks to everyone who reads my little blog that is kind of a healthy living blog/food blog/healing blog and I hope you stay tuned for the next 100 posts 🙂

 

 

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 4 years ago today…

  1. i love everything about this post 🙂 it’s my most favorite yet.

  2. Katie H says:

    Happy 100th post! What a great topic for a 100th post too. You look so happy- you and your friends are adorable. Just wait, pretty soon you will blink and it will be time for your ten year reunion!

  3. Congrats on the 100th 🙂 And you are lucky to have such a wonderful group of girls as part of your chosen family!

  4. Heather says:

    xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxxo

    can’t wait to see you again.

    soon!?

    xoxoxoxxo

    • Emily says:

      you will def be seeing me at the blogger brunch in a few weeks, but maybe I’ll stop by your coffee house someday soon because I have tons of work to do for my summer classes 🙂

  5. We graduated high school on the exact same day! Craziness! Isn’t it crazy to think that it was 4 years ago already?!

  6. othatgirl says:

    Im so glad I stopped by, you are truly an inspiration and you should be so proud of yourself!! 🙂 it has been 4 years since I graduated as well and you’re right its amazing when i reflect on how much growth has occurred… Definitely something I need to remind myself of more often :).

Leave a Reply

