cinnamon chip scones

I’m not going to lie, scones are typically not my favorite things. I have found that they are usually dry, not very flavorful, and only taste good when dipped in steaming hot coffee.

These scones are none of those things.

Cinnamon has recently become one of my favorite spices.  I seem to add it to everything I can lately.  I have one of those huge bulk containers of it from BJ’s and it has been disappearing quite quickly.  I also finally found cinnamon chips in my local grocery store. I used them last year in banana bread and loved them.

I wanted to make some sort of breakfast pastry recently because we’ve had a couple of really early days at work (oh the life of a retail associate around the holidays) and after searching out recipes on my computer, I came across this one.  I decided to give it a try and I am so happy I did.  These are delicious and were a huge hit a work.  They’re buttery and dense.

I think the key to making these successful is using really cold butter and full fat buttermilk.

Cinnamon Chip Scones
makes 12 to 16 scones
source unknown*

Ingredients
3 ¼ cups flour
⅓ cup sugar
2 ½ teaspoons baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
¾ teaspoon cinnamon
¼ teaspoon nutmeg
¾ cup cold butter (1 ½ sticks)
1 cup full fat buttermilk
1 teaspoon vanilla
¾ cup cinnamon chip
1 ½ cups powdered sugar
½ teaspoon of cinnamon
1 to 2 tablespoons milk

Directions
Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

In large bowl, combine dry ingredients. Cut in butter until it forms coarse crumbs. Make a well in center of dry ingredients and stir in buttermilk and vanilla. Fold in cinnamon chips gently.  Turn onto lightly floured surface and knead gently.**

Divide in half and pat into 7 inch round circles.  Cut into 6 or 8 wedges.

Bake at 425 for 12 to 15 minutes. Let scones cool on baking rack.

Combine powdered sugar and cinnamon. Add 1 tablespoon of milk and stir together.  The glaze should be on the thicker side but you should still be able to drizzle it.  Add more milk or powdered sugar to create desired consistency.  Drizzle over scones and enjoy!

*I don’t know where I found this recipe. If you recognize it and know the source, just let me know!

**When the dough is coming together in the bowl, it is quite crumbly.  I stirred it until most of the wet ingredients were absorbed, dumped it on the table, and put the dough together with my hands.  It takes a little work to make the dough stick together, so you will have to work with it, but just be gentle!  You don’t want the butter to become too warm while working the dough.

I hope you all have a great day! I’m off to make some sugar cookie dough and going to wait to sign for FedEx for my new iPhone 🙂  Also, Happy 1st night of Hanukkah ❤

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

