Snowflakes keep falling…

… on my head.  Okay, so maybe the lyrics are actually raindrops, but when you wake up to this:

and a doggy who watches the snow pile up:

You know that you’re not really going anywhere for the day.

In fact, I was actually anticipating this was going to happen today.  I have jury duty all week (can you say double UGH?), and they cancelled today because of the weather.  Last night I went and picked up all the groceries I was going to need to make dinner tonight so I didn’t have to drive anywhere.

But that is not what this post is about.

This post is about cookies.

If you have been reading my blog for awhile, you should know me well enough to know that a day off is going to result in some sort of baked good being produced in in my kitchen.

Enter the Ginger-Lemon Sandwich Cookie:

I found the recipe on tastespotting.com last week and couldn’t get it out of my head.

These are fantastically wonderful, and you should all go bake them right this second 🙂

Ginger-Lemon Sandwich Cookies
from My Macedonian Kitchen

Ingredients

Cookies

  • 1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 ½ teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 stick plus 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 1 large egg, at room temperature
  • ¼ cup unsulfured molasses

Filling

  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 ½ tablespoons fresh lemon juice

Directions
Preheat oven to 350° F.  Prepare two baking sheets with either parchment paper or a silicone baking mat.

In a small bowl, stir together flour, baking soda, ginger, cinnamon and salt.

Beat butter and sugar at medium speed for about two minutes.  Beat in egg and molasses.  Stir in dry ingredients until just combined.

Drop dough onto baking sheets (about teaspoons is the perfect size scoop, they expand!), 3 inches apart and bake for about 10 minute.

Let cool slightly, and transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.
In a medium sized bowl, mix butter and powdered sugar on high until light and fluffy (About 4 to 6 minutes).    Add lemon juice.

Arrange the cookies in pairs.  Spoon or pipe 1 rounded tablespoon of the lemon filling onto the flat side of half of the cookies.  Sandwich together with the remaining cookies, so that the filling spreads to the edge.

Here is a recommendation… don’t ignore the timer when a pan is in the oven because you might end up that one pan is extra crunchy.

and a certain doggy:

might end up with something extra special to eat for the week.

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Snowflakes keep falling…

  1. simplyshaka says:

    Thanks for posting the recipe-those look terrific and who doesnt like a cookie sandwich?

    All of our ice/snow is starting to melt away so it’s going to look normal again, not a fan, but my dog will be happy since he cannot stand walking on the ice.

  2. Natalie says:

    my dog did the same thing! she just stood there and watched for a bit and then refused to come in… the cookies look pretty good and that’s coming from someone who doesn’t do treats that are non-chocolate lol! hope you dig yourself out soon!

  3. leashieloo says:

    My snow has melted into a sloppy, brown mess. But it’s supposed to snow like crazy tonight, blech. Boo on the jury duty! I’ve never done it, knocks on wood. Is it really all that bad?

  4. I want a snow day! If I made those and stayed home all day, I predict they would mysteriously disappear 🙂

Leave a comment