when there are no words.

I have thought long and hard about what I would write after a 6+ month hiatus from blogging. I never really found my voice on this blog, it was a sort of food blog, sort of weight loss blog, sort of life blog.

However, to say the last 8 months of my life have been filled with joy and excitement would probably be the biggest lie.  And while I could have blogged about the personal trials and tribulations I’ve gone through, but that’s not me and that is too personal.

Much of the reason I haven’t blogged is that I have not been cooking or baking frequently.  For now, this one joy in my life also brings a lot of pain into my world as well.  To go into more detail would be more than I’m willing to share on the world of the internet.  For now I will leave you with the few lovely things I have made over the past few months.

Image

Homemade Funfetti Cupcakes with Vanilla Bean Buttercream Frosting

Image

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcake with Whipped Peanut Butter Cream Cheese Frosting

Image

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with Cinnamon Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting

Image

Homemade Yellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream Frosting (aka my birthday cake)

Image

salted caramel brownies (these have been a #1 hit every time I make them. however I cut back on the instant coffee [only 1 tsp.] because otherwise I find it very overpowering in the recipe.  I bought the fleur de sel caramel sauce from trader joe’s, use the whole jar, and only sprinkle 1 tsp. of the flaked sea salt.  seriously make these, they are amazing.)

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to when there are no words.

  1. Brenda says:

    Praying for whatever is going on. Glad to see you’re back.

  2. Katie H. says:

    Miss you dear. I hope all is okay. We are moving back to the 518 for good in mid-April- we will have to get together 🙂

  3. yayielle says:

    I understand your struggle. I’m going through my own issues and not sure if I should blog about them or not. I hate revealing too much personal info and always admire others for being so brave when they do so.

  4. Heather says:

    🙂
    those are the funfetti cupcakes of awesome, right!?!?
    thank you for making me want all of the sweet things right now – perfect distraction on a typical Monday!

  5. Chris Ranallo says:

    Just found your blog thanks to your Chicken Wing Garbage Bread. I hope you have turned a corner on whatever is going on and things are looking up. I have only read that one post, and this one, but you seem funny and to be a good, adventurous cook. I look forward to reading thru more of your post.

  6. kellml289 says:

    EMILY I SWEAR TO GOD if I SEE that you HAVE MADE THOSE SALTED CARAMEL BROWNIES ONE MORE TIME WITHOUT GIVING THEM TO ME I will just have to lock myself in an annex and cry for 1000000 days. Sad face. So so sad.

Leave a comment