The Attack of the Gingers.

Run, run, run…

as fast as you can…

You can’t catch me…

I’m the gingerbread man!

Yes, I really did make over 100 gingerbread men in two days.  Yes, I really baked each pan separately in the oven because I’m a crazy cookie maker.  Yes, I really am going to bake at least three more holiday cookies before Wednesday.

Yes, I’m crazy.

Well, not completely.  I really did have a purpose for baking at least 6 dozen of the same cookie.  It was for our local CDNYeatdrinkblog cookie exchange last night.  I’m just going to link you to Rebecca’s post recap because: 1. She did a very nice job with her recap post and 2. We have established I am a terrible blogger, and forget to take pictures of everything. Also, thank you to Heather for hosting! You are wonderful 🙂

Even for those that don’t love gingerbread, this is without a doubt, the best recipe… EVER. Try it, it’s easy and not a lot of work. They are fantastic.  Thanks to Annie’s Eats for the wonderful gingerbread recipe 🙂

Gingerbread Cookies
Source: Annie’s Eats

Ingredients:
4 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. salt
1½ tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1½ tsp. ground cloves
2 tsp. ground ginger
1 tsp. ground nutmeg
16 tbsp. unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup sugar
1 cup molasses
1 large egg

Directions:
In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda and spices to combine; set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together the butter and sugar on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes.  Mix in the molasses and egg until combined.  Add in the dry ingredients and mix just until incorporated.  Cover the bowl and chill the dough for at least one hour.

Preheat the oven to 350° F.  Line baking sheets with parchment paper.  Roll the dough out on a lightly floured work surface to about ¼-inch thickness.  Cut into desired shapes with cookie cutters.  Place the cookie shapes onto the prepared baking sheets, about 2 inches apart.  Bake for 10 minutes, rotating the pans halfway through baking.  Remove from the oven and let cool on the baking sheets for 10 minutes.  Transfer to a wire cooling rack and let cool completely.  Decorate as desired.

Glaze

Ingredients
2 cups of powdered sugar
3 to 5 teaspoons of water
1 teaspoon of vanilla

Mixed all ingredients together with a whisk.  Start with only three teaspoons of water. The glaze should not be really runny and a little bit thicker than a typical glaze you drizzle with, but not thick enough where it feels like frosting.  Add powdered sugar or water if needed for desired consistency.

Keep your eyes on watch, my first giveaway may be coming very soon 😉 As I established, I am baking a ridiculous number of cookies and while I *could* eat all of them myself, I shouldn’t. Sooo, this means some of my few, but wonderful readers may have a chance to try some of my cookies in the very near future!

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Attack of the Gingers.

  1. Alicia says:

    YUM! Those were so good- 🙂

  2. Your cookies are so delicious! Thanks for linking to me, friend! It was great seeing you last night, and thanks again for driving me there! ❤

  3. They turned out so well! Mine never look that good 🙂

  4. Heather says:

    those men are sexy. xo

  5. Whitney says:

    You are awesome! Phew, I don’t know that I have it in me to bake 200 gingerbread men! Have you ever made Nigella Lawson’s “Choco Hoto Pots?” A bit off subject here, but I just made 4 and ate 2! They are so delish! Super gooey, fudgey chocolatey and warm.

  6. mangocheeks says:

    Let one of those ginger people run all the way to Scotland. I’d love to chomp on one right now.

  7. Pingback: Vacuuming + Goals « It All Changes

Leave a comment