Apple Spice Bread with Apple Cider Glaze

My current options right now are:

1. Be a good student and study,
2. Eat delicious left over chocolate cake,
3. or blog.

Now the obvious choice is definitely the chocolate cake, wouldn’t you agree? However, I did just stuff my face with a container of mashed potatoes, so I should probably give me stomach a moment to rest.

I have been spending a ridiculous amount of time with my cat.  I think I might be destined to become a crazy cat lady one day.  What can I say? My cat makes a wonderful companion when I decide to sit and down half of an apple spice bread by myself.

Autumn is full of nostalgia for me, it brings back some wonderful memories and feelings.  The sights and smells of fall are very close to my heart, and along with that comes the food of fall.  Butternut squash, pumpkin, and of course, apples.  As much as I love pumpkin, apples will always hold a special place in my heart.  Some of my best memories are from apple picking at the orchard right near my house and eating fresh apple cider donuts.

Clearly when I saw that there was an apple cider glaze on this bread, I knew I had to make it immediately.

This bread was moist and delicious… so much so that I shamelessly stuffed my face with it on Saturday night while watching The Notebook for the millionth time with my cat and sat crying on my couch.

Don’t judge.

Apple Spice Bread with Apple Cider Glaze
recipe from Eat, Live, Run

ingredients

2 1/4 cup flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/2 cup butter, melted
2 eggs
1 cup packed brown sugar
2 tbsp molasses
1/2 large apple, grated and pressed with a paper towel
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

for glaze:

1 cup confectioners sugar
2 Tbsp apple cider

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg. Set aside.

In another large bowl, whisk together the eggs, brown sugar, molasses, butter, applesauce and grated apple. Add wet ingredients to dry and mix until just combined.

Scrape batter into a greased loaf pan and bake for 1 hour 15 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let loaf cool completely before glazing.

To make glaze, mix together the confectioners sugar and apple cider. Drizzle over completely cool loaf.

I hope you all are enjoying the fall appropriately! I started my morning today by baking a batch of my carrot cake cupcakes for something my dad was going to tonight.  They just got some major approval for my mother and are very fall oriented.  I highly recommend whipping up a batch of these too 😉

for now, I’ll leave you with a picture.  Have a wonderful week my friends ❤

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Apple Spice Bread with Apple Cider Glaze

  1. Watching movies and eating treats with a cat? That sounds like my perfect night, haha!

  2. This looks so good Emily! I need to make this once I get to a normal schedule and get baking again!

    I always cry when I watch the notebook and I’m not a cryer! The scene in the rain when she asks him why he never wrote to her gets me every time!

  3. Sounds delicious–I like apple spice just as much as (if not more than) pumpkin spice. Now I just have to find the time to make this!

Leave a comment