Homemade Funfetti Blueberry Pancakes

Yes, you read the title of the blog post correctly… homemade funfetti blueberry pancakes.

Breakfast in general is something I have always had trouble forcing myself to eat.  I’m really not a morning person, and I usually don’t want to eat until about 10AM on a normal day.  This doesn’t bode well when you have school and job, so finding ways to make myself excited about breakfast can be a challenge. Enter the funfetti blueberry pancake.

Now, I certainly cannot take credit for the idea of funfetti pancakes. Liz from Little Bitty Bakes actual gave me the idea to create homemade funfetti pancakes.  Her recipe uses funfetti mix, but I don’t have funfetti mix around my house because I make my funfetti cupcakes from scratch, so I decided to just do the same with my pancakes!

The results were A-M-A-Z-I-N-G:

Go make these right now.  They will make your day fantastic 🙂

Blueberry Funfetti Pancakes
makes 2 pancakes

Ingredients

  • ¼ cup of all purpose flour
  • ¼ cup of whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp. of baking powder
  • ⅛ tsp. of salt
  • 1 egg
  • ⅓ cup of milk (I used skim and it worked fine)
  • ¼ tsp of pure almond extract
  • ¼ tsp. of pure vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp. of sprinkles
  • ¼ cup of blueberries

Directions
Sift all purpose flour, whole wheat flour, baking powder, and salt into a large bowl.  Combine together with whisk.

In a separate bowl, whisk together egg, milk, almond extract, and vanilla.  Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients.  If the batter is too thick, add a tsp. of milk at a time and stir until desired consistency is reached. Stir in the sprinkles with a wooden spoon.

Heat griddle or pan and add either butter or non-stick spray.  Cook pancakes and add blueberries when pancake begins to bubble before flipping pancake the first time.

Serve with desired toppings.

 

My recipe is really made for one person.  I usually eat one big pancake for breakfast, so this recipe gets me two days worth of breakfast.  If you’re cooking for more than one, I would double or triple the recipe 🙂

Alright, I’m off to do schoolwork because I can’t leave my house today due to the ridiculous amount of snow plummeting the northeast right now.  I’m just *so* excited to see 20 inches of snow tomorrow… NOT.

Have a wonderful day! ❤

How do you make breakfast extra special in the morning? Is forcing yourself to eat something in the morning a struggle?  What is your favorite breakfast?

About Emily

musings of a twenty-something.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Homemade Funfetti Blueberry Pancakes

  1. I love breakfast! It’s my favorite. I actually have to make myself wait to eat it because I’ll eat too early otherwise 🙂 These look so good! I would probably double the recipe… and eat them all at once 🙂

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Homemade Funfetti Blueberry Pancakes | finding a new life through food. -- Topsy.com

  3. Alicia says:

    yum!! those look great!

  4. leashieloo says:

    OH em gee. Funfetti is my favorite of the cakes, I’ve seen these pancakes floating around and now I’m dying to try them.

  5. simplyshaka says:

    OMG-such a cute, pretty breakfast–I dig! I usually eat breakfast at my desk at work during the wk but during the wknds I like to make a bigger productive like eggs, toast, protein, etc. I am a raging bi*** if I dont have breakfast, I dont know how people go without!

  6. Katie H. says:

    Oh, I want this! Right now! So good. I am always starving in the morning so I definitely eat breakfast 🙂 I love pancakes and the like but usually need a protein too- otherwise my blood sugar will get all wonky.

Leave a comment